Zwickau, Germany 1810 - Endenich, Germany 1856

Adagio and Allegro in A-flat major, op. 70




Lichtjagd for horn and piano

(2021) - National premiere


Liverpool 1988

Nachtstück for horn and piano

(2021) - National premiere - Commissioned by Barbican Center and ECHO


Ghent, Belgium 1913 - 1974

Sonata for horn and piano, op. 7


Lento ma non tanto
Allegro ben moderato


The approximate duration of the concert will be 45 minutes


ECHO Rising Star, nominated by Barbican Centre London


by Alba Nogueras

They say that Clara Schumann described op. 70 by her husband, the Adagio and Allegro in A flat major, originally titled Romanze and Allegro, as brilliant, fresh and passionate. This work takes advantage of the limits of the registers in the first part and plays with the agility of the horn in the second. It is a colourful work that demands enormous interpretative flexibility to understand and embrace the different moods, which are often contrasting and constantly changing: at some points it is bright and cheerful, while at others it is dark and deep.

In the second part of the concert, the audience will be treated to two national premieres: Lichtjagd ( 2021) by Guillem Palomar and Nachtstück (2021) by Mark Simpson. Finally, the recital will close with what is surely the best known work of the Belgian composer Jane Vignery: Sonata for Horn and Piano, Op. 7 (1948). Boasting enormous beauty and optimism, and divided into three movements—allegro, lento ma non troppo and allegro ben moderato—this piece forges a dialogue between the two instruments and places them on par with each other: the piano does not just accompany the horn but also leads the piece in an almost theatrical way, giving the horn the chance to respond with all the emotion the performer can muster. On the other hand, this work also demands enormous technical mastery from the soloist.

In addition to having received several awards this season, Ben Goldscheider, on horn, has been nominated for the ECHO Rising Stars and has made his debut with the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sakari Oramo at the Barbican. He is accompanied on piano by Giuseppe Guarrera, a member of the Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin and a winner of the Klavierfestival Ruhr prize for young emerging artists, among other accolades.


This concert is free for all those users who are registered in L'Auditori Digital. If you already have an account on the platform, just enter your credentials. If not, register first.


You just watched the video preview. If you want to see the whole video, you can buy it individually (video_price €), or buy a subscription with unlimited access to concerts from € 7.99 per month.


You are about to purchase this video for video_price €. We inform you that you can subscribe for € 7.90 per month and enjoy all the content with unlimited access. Do you want to continue with this transaction?