Venice c. 1590 - c. 1630

Sonata seconda



Paris 1668 - 1733

Le rossignol-en-amour



Eisenach, Germany 1685 - Leipzig 1750

Suite in C minor, BWV 997

(arr. L. Horsch)


Helsinki 1970


(2021) - National premiere. Commissioned by Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Kölner Philharmonie and ECHO


Venice 1678 - Vienna 1741

Concerto per flautino RV 443: Siciliano – Allegro molto



Florence 1587 - 1640

Chi desia di saper che cos’è amore



Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France 1862 - Paris 1918




Paris 1681 - 1728

Sonata in D minor



Paris 1656 - 1728

Couplets de folies

(arr. L. Horsch)


The approximate duration of the concert will be 60 minutes

Lucie Horsch, recorder

ECHO Rising Star, nominated by Concertgebouw Amsterdam

Thomas Dunford, lute

by Alba Nogueras

This recital of early music will begin with the Sonata seconda (1629) by Dario Castello, a Venetian composer known for his two collections of sonate concertante in Stil Moderno. It will be followed by Le rossignol-en-amour, by François Couperin, a work that the composer himself considered excellent to play on the flute if the accents were softened, each passage was played precisely and everything was sacrificed for the right expression. We will come to the father figure of the Baroque period with the Suite in C minor, BWV 997, a work originally for lute or lautenwerk, arranged on this occasion by Lucie Horsch herself.

We will make a leap in time to reach the present day and enjoy the national première of a work titled Arteria (2021), by the Finnish composer Lotta Wennäkoski. It will be followed by the virtuosic Concerto per flautino, RV 443 by Antonio Vivaldi, with passages that require a great technical mastery and object of debate due to a note in the manuscript about the tonality. We will then listen to Chi desia di saper che cos'è amore (1618) by Francesca Caccini, an extremely prolific Florentine composer and singer. The group will also perform a work for solo flute of mythological inspiration, whose inclusion in the repertoire is almost obligatory: we are talking about Syrinx (1913) by Claude Debussy, which is based on the story of the nymph Syringa, pursued by the god Pan.

The recital will enter the final part with the Sonata in D minor (1711) by the French composer Anne Danican Philidor, with a first movement that develops as a beautiful lament and four others that unfold in the form of a fugue or a dance in three and four tempos. Finally, the concert will end with the piece Couplets de folies by Marin Marais, a new arrangement by Horsch with the subtitle Les folies d'Espagne, referring to the imaginative or fantastic approach that the composer made to the Spanish theme.

Lucie Horsch, a strong advocate of her instrument, has performed with Baroque ensembles, symphony orchestras and in prestigious recitals. Her latest notable achievements include being selected as an ECHO Rising Star and the Dutch Music Award 2020, the highest distinction granted by the Dutch Ministry of Culture in the field of classical music. Together with Thomas Dunford (lute) they have performed recitals in venues such as the Wigmore Hall, the Het Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Philharmonie Essen.


This concert is free for all those users who are registered in L'Auditori Play. If you already have an account on the platform, just enter your credentials. If not, register first.


You just watched the video preview. If you want to see the whole video, you can buy it individually (video_price €), or buy a subscription with unlimited access to concerts from € 7.99 per month.


You are about to purchase this video for video_price €. We inform you that you can subscribe for € 7.90 per month and enjoy all the content with unlimited access. Do you want to continue with this transaction?