OBC: The passion
Next live: February 2, 2022 | 11:00

JOAN MAGRANÉ: Obreda (2020) 17′
FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN: Symphony no. 49 en m The passion (1768) 22′
ALEXANDER ZEMLINSKY: Lyrische Symphony (Lyric Symphony), op. 18 (1922-23) 50 '

Franz Joseph Haydn's Symphony 49, known as The passion, is one of the most representative works of the period Sturm und Drang (Storm and thrust) of the composer, characterized by an intense and vigorous expressiveness. The symphony has a structure that takes the model of the church sonatas baroque, four movements in the same key headed by a slow time and of a gloomy and elegiac character.

The music of the Austrian Alexander Zemlinsky is based on the harmonic and formal universe of the latest works by Johannes Brahms and Gustav Mahler. Close to the concerns of the Second Vienna School, although without embracing the most daring aesthetic postulates, the famous Lyrical symphony use textThe gardener, by Rabindranath Tagore, for a colossal seven-movement symphonic canvas with two vocal soloists.
Lead the concert Obreda, by Joan Magrané. Titled from the homonymous text of Perejaume, the poetic idea of a grove of works it shapes a sound space as a metaphor for human nature and action.


Barcelona Symphony Orchestra
Annette Dasch, soprano
Josep-Ramon Olivé, baritone
Kazushi Ono, conductor

OBC: The passion
Next live: February 2, 2022 | 11:00


This concert is free for all those users who are registered in L'Auditori Digital. If you already have an account on the platform, just enter your credentials. If not, register first.


You just watched the video preview. If you want to see the whole video, you can buy it individually (video_price €), or buy a subscription with unlimited access to concerts from € 7.99 per month.


You are about to purchase this video for video_price €. We inform you that you can subscribe for € 7.90 per month and enjoy all the content with unlimited access. Do you want to continue with this transaction?